Waterloo Historical Review:

An Undergraduate Annual

Editor-in-Chief

Adam Ferguson

Editorial Board

Ryan Chen-Wing

Matthew De Buono

Sarah Empey

Katelyn McGirr

Catherine Pan

Johnathon Pan

Zainab Ramahi

Istvan Szepesi

Heather Whiteside

Faculty Editors

Dan Gorman
Associate Professor, History

Patrick Harrigan
Distinguished Professor Emeritus, History

Andrew Hunt *Professor, History*

Greta Kroeker

Associate Professor, History

Ian Milligan
Assistant Professor, History

Bruce Muirhead *Professor, History*

Dylan Cyr Sessional Instructor, History

Shahram Kholdi Sessional Instructor, History

Sarah Loose Sessional Instructor, History

Dan Travers Sessional Instructor, History

Bessma Momani Associate Professor, Political Science

Waterloo Historical Review, Volume VII: MMXV

The Waterloo Historical Review 2015

All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photo-copying, recording or otherwise, without the express permission of the Waterloo Historical Review.